Hacked The Hacktoberfest šŸ

Hacked The Hacktoberfest šŸ

Tips to get started with Open Source during Hacktoberfest

Ā·

2 min read

It's October, so as an Open Source Enthusiast I started contributing to Hacktoberfest. It was my first time contributing to Open source and the I was scared of doing something wrong. Eventually, I started making the process, I discovered new repositories based on my tech stack and started fixing beginner-friendly or good-first-issues. So finally I am done with my Hacktoberfest target but I did not stop contributing and that pushed me to a total of 8 total contributions. Before starting I had so many doubts like Open Source is only for Pro Developers and you have to know how to code to contribute but after this I know some things that might help you in your first open-source contributions.

  1. Use Filters in GitHub to find the repository you want to contribute to and what matches your tech stack and preferences.
  2. Search using labels like good-first-issue or easy if itā€™s your first time
  3. Comment on the issue you want to work on and ask the maintainer to explain it to you, donā€™t be afraid to ask questions because most of the maintainers are super helpful and they will help you throughout the process of your contribution.
  4. Remember the maintainer knows you are a beginner, they donā€™t expect you to know everything so ask for help if you donā€™t what to do next
  5. Learn Git properly and learn how to read large codebases.
  6. Finally, enjoy the process and donā€™t stop after an event, do it throughout the year. All the best for this year and enjoy!!

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Subham Ghosh by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!

Ā